skip to content

Violence Research Centre


VRC team

Prof Manuel Eisner

Director of the VRC 

Wolfson Professor of Criminology

University profile - ResearchGate

Dr Maria Ttofi

Lecturer in Social Psychology and Crime

University profile - ResearchGate

Dr Justice Tankebe

Lecturer in Criminology

University profile - ResearchGate

Dr Paolo Campana

Lecturer in Criminology and Complex Networks

University profile - ResearchGate

Dr Sara Valdebenito

Research Associate

University profile - ResearchGate

Dr Simone Castello

Research Administrator / Webmaster



PhD Students

  • Vincent Harinam 
  • Rebecca Raffan-Gowar 
  • Hannah Gaffney 
  • Kim Reising 
  • Menaal Munshey 
  • Lu Liu 
  • Tom Olphin 
  • Michael Bryden 
  • Faryal Shafi 
  • Michael Long Siu 
  • Bomin Lee
  • Laura Campo
  • Sarika Dewan
  • Klea Ramaj
  • Alyssa Knisley
  • Sophie Dixon


Affiliated Members

  • Dr Margit Averdijk, Research Associate, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Switzerland (view profile)
  • Dr Kofi Boakye, Senior Lecturer in Criminology, Faculty of Arts, Law and Social Sciences, Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge, UK  (view profile)
  • Prof Kostas Fanti, Department of Psychology, University of Cyprus (view profile)
  • Prof David Farrington, Emeritus Professor of Psychological Criminology, Institute of Criminology, University of Cambridge, UK (view profile)
  • Prof Urs Hepp, Integrated Psychiatric Services, Winterthur-Zürcher Unterland, Switzerland (view profile)
  • Prof David Humphreys, Associate Professor of Evidence-Based Intervention and Policy Evaluation, Department of Social Policy and Intervention, University of Oxford, UK (view profile)
  • Dr Maria Krisch, Social Development Adviser, Department for International Development, London, UK 
  • Prof Vicente J. Llorent, Department of Education, University of Cordoba, Spain (view profile
  • Prof Tina Malti, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Toronto, Canada (view profile)
  • Dr Tara Renae McGee, Senior Lecturer, School of Criminology & Criminal Justice, Griffith University, Australia (view profile)
  • Dr Aja Murray, Lecturer in Psychology with Quantitative Focus, School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences, University of Edinburgh, UK (view profile)
  • Prof Joseph Murray, Post-Graduate Program in Epidemiology, Universidade Federal de Pelotas, Brazil; Department of Psychiatry, University of Cambridge, Honorary Senior Visiting Fellow (view profile)
  • Dr Amy Nivette, Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, University of Utrecht, Netherlands (view profile)
  • Prof Noemi Pereda, Department of Clinical Psychology and Psychobiology, University of Barcelona, Spain
  • Dr Denis Ribeaud, Scientific Project Manager, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Switzerland (view profile)
  • Dr Aaron Sell, Lecturer, School of Criminology & Criminal Justice, Griffith University, Australia (view profile)
  • Prof Lilly Shanahan, Assistant Professor, Jacobs Center, University of Zurich, Switzerland (view profile)
  • Prof Michael Shanahan, Department of Sociology, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, US (view profile)
  • Dr Yulia Shenderovich, Postdoctoral Research Officer, University of Oxford, UK (view profile)
  • Prof Jay Phoenix Singh, Department of Psychiatry, University of Pennsylvania, US (view profile
  • Prof Georgiou Stelios, Department of Psychology, University of Cyprus (view profile)
  • Dr Alex Sutherland, Research Leader, RAND Corporation, Cambridge, UK (view profile)
  • Prof Nico Trajtenberg, Department of Sociology, School of Social Sciences, Universidad de la Republica del Uruguay (view profile)
  • Prof Jean-Louis van Gelder, University of Twente, Netherlands (view profile)
  • Dr Antonio Zuffianó, Lecturer of Psychology, Liverpool Hope University, UK (view profile)
  • Prof Izabela Zych, Department of Psychology, University of Cordoba, Spain (view profile)



The Centre currently has previous or ongoing collaborative projects with the University of Toronto (Prof Tina Malti), the Carnegie Melon University (Prof Daniel Nagin), Griffith University Australia (Prof Aaron Sell), the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Dr Denis Ribeaud), University of Utrecht (Prof Amy Nivette), University of Oxford (Prof Federico Varese) and the World Health Organization (Dr Chris Mikton).